Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily


Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio


DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Kevin Morby

首页  Artists  

Kevin Morby

Items 1 to 3 of 3 on page 1 of 1
Still Life
Still Life (LP + insert)
Cat: WOODIST 075LP. Rel: 08 Oct 14
  1. The Jester, The Tramp & The Acrobat
  2. The Ballad Of Arlo Jones
  3. Motors Running
  4. All Of My Life
  5. Drowning
  6. Bloodsucker
  7. Parade
  8. Dancer
  9. Amen
  10. Our Moon
Review: Until recently, Kevin Morby had been pulling double-duty in folk-psych mainstays Woods (from whom he parted ways amicably at the end of last year) and self-styled 'party band' The Babies (now on hiatus) but with a full year of touring in 2013 over and a move in location as inspiration, it was time for him to strike out on his own once more. The result is this second solo record, which takes a reflective approach yet triumphs though his mellifluous tones (comparable to the like of Cass McCombs and Kurt Vile) and a Dylan-esque sense of earthy intensity. This marks a quiet revelation from a songwriter striking out on his own without compromise, yet with style and grace aplenty.}
Read more
 in stock $21.26
Oh My God
Oh My God (gatefold 2xLP + MP3 download code)
Cat: DOC 191LP. Rel: 02 May 19
  1. Oh My God (4:03)
  2. No Halo (3:05)
  3. Nothing Sacred/All Things Wild (3:31)
  4. OMG Rock & Roll (2:30)
  5. Seven Devils (3:55)
  6. Hail Mary (5:38)
  7. Piss River (5:20)
  8. Savannah (3:24)
  9. Storm (Beneath The Weather) (1:19)
  10. Congragulations (2:44)
  11. I Want To Be Clean (3:28)
  12. Sing A Glad Song (4:21)
  13. Ballad Of Faye (2:21)
  14. O Behold (3:37)
Review: Before we get to his solo career credentials, it's a good thing to know something of Kevin Morby's background first. The American singer-songwriter has counted himself as the bassist in the Brooklyn outfit Woods and was frontman of The Babies before that. This release of Oh My God delivers Morby a fifth solo studio album since his Harlem River debut in 2013 and the versatility of his styles and inspirations seem to be hitting a new high, given the sometimes bluesy substance of his lyrics. Often where Morby's voice hits a sweet spot, subtle humming attenuations caress his deeper notations, all coated in a slight smokey haze similar to Bob Dylan (of now) and the late Leonard Cohen. Throw this into a mix of light distortion, piano ballads and theatrical big band techniques, it's in Kevin Morby we trust.
Read more
 in stock $17.76
Singing Saw
Singing Saw (gatefold LP)
Cat: DOC 111LP. Rel: 15 Apr 16
  1. Cut Me Down (3:31)
  2. I Have Been To The Mountain (3:14)
  3. Singing Saw (7:16)
  4. Drunk & On A Star (4:07)
  5. Dorothy (5:07)
  6. Ferris Wheel (2:54)
  7. Destroyer (4:18)
  8. Black Flowers (5:44)
  9. Water (6:36)
Review: Former Woods bassist Kevin Morby might not always have been everyone's contender as singer-songwriter of the moment, yet this makes the modern-classic appeal of 'Singing Saw' all the more illuminating. Here, his Dylan-esque drawl (particularly recalling the sun-burnished hues of 'Nashville Skyline') makes its presence felt on a finely honed collection of Laurel Canyon-tinged serenades that run the gamut from the piano-led melancholia of 'Ferris Wheel' to the Replacements-esque rock of 'Dorothy', arriving at a sound that's subtly reflective and emotionally resonant in equal measure. Fans of Whiskeytown, Matthew Sweet and Kurt Vile alike, you need this album on your stereo.
Read more
 in stock $17.18
Items 1 to 3 of 3 on page 1 of 1


Kevin Morby
Release Date